Posted in Reading and Writing, Tags

Bookish Confessions

My Own Personal Readathon Day 2 Update:

  • Finished We Were Liars by E. Lockhart {220 Pages}
  • Started Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge {208 Pages}
  • Continued Six of Crows audiobook by Leigh Bardugo {Will tally at the end}

onfessions.png

Skimming

If I am really bored at a certain part in a book but I don’t want to DNF it just yet, I will skim through and just read the dialogue between characters. Sometimes you just can’t force yourself to sit through long drawn-out paragraphs of description/explanations and the dialogue will usually give me enough to get by.

giphy5

Finishing Series

I have a really bad habit of reading the first book in a series, really loving it, then waiting too long to pick up the next book so that I lose interest. At the time I’m usually all “It was so good I have to have the next one now!” then the next thing I know it’s been six months and I have completely forgotten about my need to read it.

 

Reading Multiple Books

At any one time, I am usually reading at least three books at once. I listen to an audiobook while driving, doing things around the house, and sometimes when exercising. I have at least one ebook that I read when I’m out of the house so I don’t have to carry a physical book with me everywhere I go (even though I usually have one anyway). Finally, I have at least one physical book which I read while lounging around the house, before bed, by the lake, etc.

Negative Reviews

giphy7

I actually love reading negative reviews of my favorite books. I will purposefully look for 1-2 star reviews of books I loved just so I can laugh at and make fun of what they say. I won’t even comment or try to defend the book, I will just read the review and others comments and usually end up laughing about how intense they are. Usually, if you review a book you rated 1 star, you have a lot to say.

Weird Bookmarks

I absolutely refuse to crease the pages of my books. So, that means that sometimes I use very strange things as bookmarks. I have literally used my dog to keep my book on the right page when I had to do something quickly.

 

Library Books

I have a really hard time reading books that I have checked out of the library. I have an obsession of owning books I have read. I am always afraid that if I read a book in the library I will love it but then have to return it back to the library.

Excessive Book Buying

giphy8

I am known to go shopping and come home with stacks of books. I struggle to even go to the grocery store and not come out with at least one book. A lot of times I won’t have an immediate desire to read a book or even know what it is about, but will end up getting it because I saw someone else talk about it. There are books that have been on my shelf for months/years that I have no plans to read.

Buying Books I’ve Read

I will not spend money on a book that I have already read, no matter how much I loved it. It’s not even a rule or anything I set for myself, I just can’t physically buy a book I’ve already read when there are so many other books I haven’t read. I usually ask for those for Christmas/Birthdays instead.

 

Reading Friends

I don’t actually have any friends/family that like to read as much as I do or the same things as I do. I have gone so far as to beg my dad to read a book I love just so we can talk about it. I would absolutely love to find a book club that reads mostly YA.

 

Ranting

giphy4

I am a book ranter. I have actually finished a book at two o’clock in the morning and proceeded to rant to my dog for the next thirty minutes. I’m pretty sure I could see the look of absolute boredom on her face. When my dogs aren’t available, I will rant to an imaginary person who may or may not talk back.

 

Aesthetics

It physically pains me when I have a series with a mixture of paperbacks and hardbacks. However, it does not bother me if the covers don’t match. I will try to get the covers that I think are prettiest but I don’t necessarily care about cover changes. I will go out of my way to make sure they are all in the same format.

Leave a Reply

