Posted in Discussion, Reading and Writing

Buddy Reading/Reading with Others — Discuss with Me

My Own Personal Readathon Day 1 Update:

  • Finished last half of Nevernight by Jay Kristoff {212 Pages}
  • Started We Were Liars by E. Lockhart {22 Pages}
  • Listened to some of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo {? Pages — Will check at the end}

 

Discussion…

reading buddies.jpg

Question: Do you participate in Buddy Reads? How often? How do you prefer to do it?

I personally have never participated in buddy reads but am definitely interested. As I have no friends/family that read as much as I do, I don’t have anyone physically in my life that would voluntarily read a book with me just so we could discuss it.

I think buddy reading could be enjoyable if done the right way. That said, I have no idea what the “right way” would consist of. Would you set a reading schedule so you stay on track with each other? Would you say set a date to have the book finished so you can talk about it as a whole?

I think I personally would prefer to have a schedule where you read a few chapters then talk about those chapters so you can theorize about what’s going to happen next (I do that when I read by myself anyway).

giphy

Question: Do you participate in book club(s)? Virtual or in person? Do you often read the book?

I am pretty sure book clubs work the same way, at least the one’s you go to in person. You have a set date every month on which book club happens, then you come prepared with your book read so you can discuss it with the group. Right? I’m assuming virtual book clubs could happen differently. I know, at least on Goodreads, that there are usually discussion threads so you can talk about the book as you go if you would like.

I have always wanted to start a book club. There have been a few that I thought about joining but they didn’t really read books that I like. I am in reading groups on Goodreads but it’s honestly not the same for me. What do you think?

Question: Does anyone want to try a buddy read? I’m totally up for it. Also if anyone is starting a book club let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

