Posted in Discussion, Reading and Writing

Ebooks vs Audiobooks vs Physical Books – a discussion

Question: Do you prefer ebooks, audiobooks, or physical books?

Ebooks…

Personally I prefer ebooks only when it is inconvenient to carry a physical book with me. This may be when I am traveling or if I am trying to read while being discreet. I also tend to get most of my review books through ebook.

Pros: 
Portable
Light
Unlimited
Discreet

Cons:
Not an actual book
Can’t put on a bookshelf
Small screen
Can’t share

Audiobooks…

I prefer audiobooks to listen to when I am driving, working out, or when it is practically impossible to hold a book/ereader. I get through a lot of audiobooks when I am driving long distance.

Pros:
Portable
Hands free
Convenient

Cons:
Some audiobook narrators suck (let’s be honest)
Can’t share
Can’t show off/put on bookshelf
Not an actual book

Physical Books…

This is my preferred method of reading overall. I absolutely love holding books in my hands, being able to smell them, show them off, put them on my bookshelf. And if you feel comfortable, share them with friends/family. I love a good old floppy paperback and the beauty of a hardcover.

Pros:
Beautiful
Easy to display
Easy to share
Can smell
The act of turning pages
Can see your progress visually

Cons:
Heavy
Not easily portable

 

If you can think of any more pros/cons for any of these I would love to know. It was a lot of fun thinking of why I like each reading method in different ways. I would love to hear your preferred reading method as well!

Leave a Reply

