Posted in Reading and Writing, Reviews

Triad Soul – Book Review

Thanks to Nathan Burgoine and Bold Strokes Books, Inc. for sending me this in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own opinions.

soul
Title: Triad Soul
Author: Nathan Burgoine
Series: Triad Blood #2
Genre: Fantasy/LGBTQ+
Goodreads ♦ Amazon
3.5 stars

On a good day I am really bad at summarizing books but I feel like this one I couldn’t explain it in a way that makes any sense whatsoever. So, here is the synopsis on Goodreads…

The law of three is everything: three vampires for a coterie, three demons for a pack, and three wizards for a coven. Those alone or in pairs are vulnerable to the rest. Luc, Anders, and Curtis—vampire, demon, and wizard—sidestepped tradition by binding themselves together.

When something starts brutally killing demons in Ottawa, the three find themselves once again moving among the powers who rule the city from the shadows—this time working with them to try to stop the killings before chaos and blood rule the streets.

Hunting a killer who seems to leave no trace behind, the triad are forced to work with allies they don’t dare trust, powers they barely understand, and for the good of those they already know to be corrupt.

They have the power of blood, soul, and magic. But they have to survive to keep it.

My Review..

I got this book from Netgalley without any knowledge of this being a series, let alone the second book. I am 100% sure that not having read the first book affected the way I perceived this one. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy reading this novel. It was fast paced, action packed, and full of fun entertaining characters. However, there were so many things that went over my head because it happened in the previous book. This was probably the entire reason the rating wasn’t higher.

I liked the mystery aspect of the book. At the very beginning there was a murder and the main focus of the book was figuring out who the murderer was. Nothing just fell into place for the characters, they had to actually work to figure things out and it actually felt like a real investigation.

There were a lot of characters in this story and I felt they all worked together to make a great well-rounded story. I think one of my favorite things about his story were the characters. Especially the triad. I love that the three main characters (the triad) are so close and treat each other as equals. I also love that while they are in a romantic relationship with each other, that isn’t the focus of the book. I don’t know if that is the focus in the first book, but I really like how it took a back seat in this one.

In my personal opinion, if this book interests you, I highly recommend reading the series in order. You will get the most out of this book with the knowledge from reading the first one.

One thought on “Triad Soul – Book Review

Leave a Reply

