Posted in Reading and Writing, Reviews

A Darker Shade of Magic – Book Review

adsom
Title: A Darker Shade of Magic
Author: V.E. Schwab
Series: Shades of Magic #1
Genre: Fantasy
Goodreads ♦ Amazon
3.5 stars

There is a lot of hype surrounding this book and this series as a whole. As a result, I had really high expectations for this book. That may be why my rating isn’t as high as I would have liked for it to be. I try to not let other’s opinions of books influence my own so my expectations aren’t really high or really low but that was just unavoidable in this situation. You can’t go on any bookish site or watch any bookish video without seeing this series.

→ Mild Spoilers Ahead ←

Honestly, I really loved the premise of this series. The concept that there are multiple worlds with multiple Londons intrigue me. The way they described the worlds as sheets of paper on top of each other and you have to travel between them in order. I like the different levels of magic between each London as well. The world overall was really interesting and well developed in my opinion.

The characters are what fell flat to me. I liked Kell a lot but that was basically that was the only character that really stood out to me. I wanted to like Lila so badly but her character was just so underdeveloped. It was like she was made up to be this badass thief character that could take care of herself but Kell was constantly having to save her life and she never really contributed anything. Although she did shoot Rhy in the leg so that was pretty cool. I really wanted to see more of the relationship between Rhy and Kell. In the end Kell bound his life to Rhy but honestly there isn’t anything that makes me believe this. Why are they so close? Why would Kell sacrifice his life for his brother? Overall, I just wanted more from the characters. I felt more feelings for Astrid, Athos, and Holland than I did the main characters.

What I want from the next book(s)…

I want to know more about black London.
I want to know what happened to Holland in white London and what happens when he is sent to black London.
I want to know if Holland can get free of his soul seal.
I want to know more about Kell’s past/his relationship with Rhy.
I want to find out about Lila’s powers.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and it was a fairly quick read. I definitely want to continue the series but it’s not high up on my list.

One thought on “A Darker Shade of Magic – Book Review

Leave a Reply

