Posted in Reading and Writing, Reviews

Eliza and Her Monsters – Book Review

eliza
Title: Eliza and Her Monsters
Author: Francesca Zappia
Series: Standalone
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads ♦ Amazon

5 stars

I would give this book 100 stars if I could. This is the best YA contemporary I have read since Fangirl. I absolutely loved it. Eliza and Her Monsters is about a girl in high school who creates an online comic called “Monstrous Sea.” It is extremely popular and millions of people read it. However, nobody knows that she is the one who writes it. A new boy transfers to her school who just happens to be the most popular “Monstrous Sea” fanfiction writer. They form a relationship but Eliza continues to keep her secret from him. What happens when the world finds out who she is?

I absolutely loved Eliza as a character. She reminds me so much of myself when I was in high school. She would prefer to just hang out in her room on her computer or reading a book. One difference is that I actually would hang out with friends from school every once in a while. I love her friendship with Emma and Max. Even though they were online they were always there to help Eliza and get her through a situation. When she starts making friends in real life, she starts to come out of her shell.

When Eliza meets Wallace it is nowhere near insta-love. In fact, Eliza does her best to avoid him at first. When she finds out he is Rainmaker, her comic’s most popular fanfiction writer, and that he is turning her comic into a book, she is completely surprised and is not sure what she thinks about it. I love their little not writing back and forth thing. It was really cute (if it was also a little weird). I don’t blame her for not telling Wallace her secret but I also don’t think I would have made the same decision.

One of the things I loved most about this book is how it handles deeper issues. When I first started reading this I thought it would be a cute light-hearted contemporary but the more I read, the deeper it became. I don’t want to talk too much about it since there would be potential spoilers, but this book tackles issues such as anxiety, depression, suicide, ptsd, grief, and family issues. Not only did it tackle these, but it did a good job as well.

I highly… HIGHLY… recommend this book. I can’t express in words how much I loved this book. I am so glad I got this is my Owlcrate box. I am now greatly looking forward to reading Francesca Zappia’s other book Made You Up.

Question: Do you have any recommendations like this book? I really want to read more like this but I don’t read a lot of contemporaries so I need some help.

2 thoughts on “Eliza and Her Monsters – Book Review

Leave a Reply

