Posted in Reading and Writing, Reviews

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) – Book Review

Question: I am in a dilemma. How should I read the Infernal Devices trilogy? Should I stop after this book and read them? Or should I read the rest of the Mortal Instruments, then read the Infernal Devices? Help!

glass
Title: City of Glass
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: The Mortal Instruments #3
Genre: YA Urban Fantasy
Goodreads ♦ Amazon
4.5 stars

 

If you were not aware, The Mortal Instruments is a six book series but the way it is written is divided into two trilogies. It’s a little confusing to explain but this book wraps up the first three books with a good conclusion.

This is by far my favorite of the series so far. I can’t wait to see how the next three books go.

If you haven’t read this book/series yet, I also have a review for the first two books in the series: City of Bones and City of Ashes

(Warning: Spoilers Ahead)

This book was so thrilling from the very beginning. Poor Simon has almost died like three times by now and his luck is just too amazing. But I absolutely love Simon so he better never actually die or I might throw the book into a fire (not for real, don’t shun me).

The part at the beginning where Clary shows up at the Penhallows and Isabelle is doing everything she can to not let Clary go see Jace and Clary goes anyway and Jace gets really angry and says a bunch of hateful things to Clary to try to make her go back home… you know the scene. I have a feeling that this made a lot of readers mad a Jace. But honestly, I believe that Clary deserved it. All they want is to keep her safe and all she seems to care about at this point is that she get her way. Sure, Jace could have said all that in a different way but it was the truth. Even at the end when he was apologizing, I was like, don’t do that, she deserved it! But I digress.

Clary was awesome in this book. She discovers she has this amazing new ability that I think is crazy. Especially when they found out how she got it. And even Jace is stronger than a normal shadowhunter. I can’t even.

(Sidenote: I’m trying my best not to spoil too much for the rest of the series in case you do decide to read this review first so a lot of my thoughts are going to be vague and scattered. Sorry, not sorry.)

Lastly, let’s talk about Sebastian. Who else saw that coming? I feel like it was pretty obvious but especially when Clary was like, ‘oh yeah, he was the only one who knew about that, I should have known it was him…’ Sometimes these characters can be completely naive. (But that’s why we love them.) Clary has such a kind heart I’m not surprised she was fooled.

Oh my gosh, Magnus and Alec. Can we discuss that last scene with them for a second. That kiss! I can’t handle all my fangirling right now. So basically all my babies are in relationships with the right people except for Simon. I can’t wait for him to find his person.

Okay, I am going to stop rambling now. I don’t even know if this review was coherent, or if this can even be considered a review but nonetheless, it is what it is.

Question: What did you think of the first three books? Which one is you favorite? I would love to know!

2 thoughts on “City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) – Book Review

  1. I read the first three books first, then the infernal devices and then the last three books. I feel that that is the best way to read it. The infernal devices are my favorite series (not including Harry Potter obviously).

    Like

Leave a Reply

