Posted in Reading and Writing, Reviews

Book Review – Concourse by Santino Hassell

concourse
Title: Concourse
Author: Santino Hassell
Series: Five Boroughs #5
Genre: LGBTQ/Romance
Goodreads ♦ Amazon
4 stars

 

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own opinions.

I actually think I shot myself in the foot with this one. I really need to do better about checking if books are part of a series before requesting them. Concourse is the fifth book in a series that I haven’t read any other books of and that hurt my reading experience of this book. Don’t get me wrong, I still really enjoyed this book, which is why it still received 4/5 stars.

This was my first ever Santino Hassell and I am so glad I finally picked up one of his books. He is definitely going on my list of awesome MM authors. This story was so cute and fun.

The relationship between the main characters, Ashton and Val was so beautiful and real. It’s not often that we get books that aren’t insta-love. I absolutely love when we can see the feelings for each other build and build until they realize their feelings.

”I think I’m in love with you. And I don’t know what to do.”

“I don’t know what to do either. No one has loved me before.”

Ashton as a main character broke my heart and made me feel all my feelings. All he wanted was for someone to notice him for who he truly was and see past all his show of being a shallow ‘play boy.’ Val was that someone and it was just beautiful.

And when I was drunk and lonely and falling apart, Valdrin was the only one I needed. The only one I wanted. In the darkest part of the night, when I was raw and on edge, after the parties wound down and everyone else went home with a partner, that reality hit me hard.

This book was so quote worthy and beautiful (how many times can I use that word?) I could go on and on about it. If you haven’t read this book, or if you haven’t read this series then I highly recommend it. You won’t regret it.

”I do want you. And it’s all going to go to hell soon enough, but I can’t help it. The idea of you being with anyone else drives me insane.”

Leave a Reply

