Posted in Reading and Writing, Reviews

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) – Book Review

bones

Title: City of Bones
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: The Mortal Instruments
Genre: YA Urban Fantasy
Goodreads ♦ Amazon
3.5 stars

 

This was a strong first book for a series in my opinion. I have actually read this book three separate times and each time I read something that catches me off guard. I’m glad this time that I actually continued on with the series.

One of my favorite things about this series are the characters. I don’t know if you’ve ever read a book where the female protagonist is suddenly thrust into a fantasy world. She is usually two types of characters. The first is the super weak, afraid girl who relies completely on the male protagonist to save her. The “damsel in distress” if you will. The second is the suddenly kickass character after training for like one week. This one even ends up stronger than the male in most cases.

In this book, Clary is like the happy medium. She doesn’t suddenly gain super awesome fighting skills or some inexplicable super power right off the bat. Neither is she a super weak damsel in distress.

Jace is also an awesome love interest. Cassandra does a good job of finding the balance between a “bad boy” jerk and being able to actually shows his feelings. I also love the relationship between Isabelle, Alec, and Jace. (And Max but he comes in later.)

(Mild Spoilers Ahead)

I also love the fact that there isn’t a love triangle, well not really. If you read this book and honestly believe there is a love triangle, you are fooling yourself. Also, can we talk about Magnus and Alex? That is just the best. I absolutely love them together and all I want to do is fangirl about them.

Lastly, the plot twist in the book throws all others out of the water. Not that I particularly liked it. In fact, that may the the main reason I took off on the rating.

All-in-all, I really enjoyed this book and I absolutely recommend it. I have a feeling this is going to become one of my favorite series of all time.

 

Leave a Reply

