Posted in Discussion, Reading and Writing

Discussion: Rereading to Continue Series

Question: How many times do you try to read a book before you give up? 

I ask this because I when I was younger I read the first three books in the Mortal Instrument series and loved them. This was about the time when the third book had just come out. At the time I thought that was going to be the last book in the series so I didn’t know when any of the others were released. I actually didn’t know there more books and more series until there was this huge deal on the release of City of Heavenly Fire.

By the time I realized there were so many more books, I had already forgotten most of what happened in the first three books so I wanted to reread them before I continued on with the series. However, when I was reading the first one I just couldn’t get back into it. I don’t know if it was because I just wasn’t in the mood at the time or if I had grown out of the series or what.

So, as for my question. Should I give it another try? Since the release of Cassandra Clare’s newest series and how much everyone is enjoying them, and the rest of the series for that matter, I really want to see what everyone is talking about.

So, I guess what I’m asking is…

Does the series get better? Stay about the same? Get worse?

Is it worth it to stick through the first three books to get to the rest of the series?

 

Leave a Reply

