Posted in Reading and Writing, Reviews

Broken Play – Review

broken play
Title: Broken Play
Author: Samantha Kane
Series: Birmingham Rebels #1
Genre: Romance/Erotica/LGBTQIA/Sports
Rating: 4/5 Stars
Goodreads ♦ Amazon

The Birmingham Rebels are where footballs go when no other teams will accept them. It is the last stop for players with “not so great” pasts. Cass Zielinski is the team’s captain and where he goes, his best friend, Beau Perez goes. They are inseparable. They are both harboring secret feelings for each other but neither realize it, that is, until they meet Marian Treadwell, the team’s new offensive assistant coach.

Broken Play was a great start to a series that I am quickly growing to love. I think I would have given this 5 stars if I hadn’t accidentally read he fourth book first. I already knew what was going to happen but I still reading it.

I think my favorite part of this was how Cass and Beau just kind of fell into their feelings for each other while they were both trying to court Marian. It was almost a coming to know oneself story. Beau was my favorite character. He was so reserved at the beginning because he was so afraid of doing something wrong but then he starting coming out of his shell. His character went through the most development in my opinion and I hope to see more of that in future books.

I also loved the other players on the team. While it briefly mentions all the characters,  the series really focuses on a select few. I can’t wait to read about the other characters. In fact, I’ve already started the next book.

Be warned, this book has a lot of “sexy times” and one orgy scene. I do not recommend this for the faint of heart or anyone under 18.

One thought on “Broken Play – Review

Leave a Reply

