Posted in Reviews

The List – Review

list

I was given this to read by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Title: The List
Author: Patricia Forde
Genre: YA Dystopian
Release Date: August 1, 2017
My Rating: 3.25/5 stars
Goodreads ♦ Amazon
The List is about a Dystopian world where the people are only permitted to speak words from a designated list. The premise of this book was really interesting to me. When I first read the description I was really excited to read it. However, it didn’t turn out to be what I thought. The very beginning when we were just learning about the world, I was very excited to learn about how the system worked, what happened when people used banned words, why they were banned, etc. However, my excitement quickly diminished. The ending was very exciting as well once the action started but it was over very quickly as well. It was like the long build up didn’t really lead to anything.

  • Characters: The characters were interesting but they weren’t fleshed out very well. I would have liked to see them more developed and learn more about their past. The only person we learned anything about was the main character, Letta, and that wasn’t until the very end. Also, I couldn’t get over the language. I know the whole point of the book was the limitation of words, but I every time someone “spoke list” it made me think of someone who’s first language was not English but they were able to barely speak it, like broken English. The relationships, whether that be friends, family, or romantic, were not formed very well either. It was more like the book took place in steps.
  • Action/Plot: The plot and pacing was not bad. While I was reading I never really got bored or confused. Everything that happened worked towards the ending. There wasn’t any surprises either, which could be good or bad depending on what you like. There was a little action at the end but it didn’t last long and was over very quickly.
  • Premise: This premise was very interesting and unique which is what really made me want to read this book. I really hope there are more books because I would love to learn more about the world and the characters.
  • Overall: If this book ever has a sequel I will probably pick it up. The premise was very interesting and I like most of the characters. I actually hope there is a sequel so we can learn more about the characters and the world. If the author could flesh out the world and characters more then I think this book/series could become very popular. If you have read the premise and it interests you then you should definitely give it read.

More reviews by Title, Author, and Genre

Leave a Reply

