Posted in Reviews

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

 

♥ SPOILER FREE REVIEW ♥

red queen

Goodreads ♦ Amazon ♦ Book Depository

Red Queen was not exactly what I expected. Just so you know, let me tell you what I expected.

My brain: There is a girl who is standing on top of a mountain watching her friends/family/people (the reds) being treated badly by the silvers. All of the sudden she has powers… what? how? why? Then she uses that power to show the silvers who’s boss, but obviously she can’t win yet because there are still more books. (There is more but you get the point)

I know this is a little specific but that is just how my brain works. I literally pictured this in my mind before reading this book. Let’s be honest, that was probably the reason why I put off reading this book for so long. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I was, for the most part, completely wrong in my assumptions.

I really enjoyed reading this story. It was a lot of fun, and while it had its issues (like most books do), for entertainment purposes, it was an A+.

  • Action: There was a fair amount of action throughout the book, however most of it took place during the second half of the book. I really enjoyed learning about all the different abilities the Silvers had.
  • Politics: The politics that appear in this story were also interesting. While the story wasn’t politically heavy, I found there was enough to keep the reader interested. I was honestly surprised to find that I enjoyed this aspect since I have always been intimidated by books with high “political intrigue.”
  • Romance: Two words… love triangle. This is one of those tropes that drive me insane I am so over reading about love triangles that every time I see one I am tempted to give up reading right then and there. Luckily for most of this book the love triangle takes a back seat to everything else going on. It wasn’t until the last 100-150 pages that it really stood out.
  • Plot twist: Holy plot twist. I am honestly surprised I didn’t see this coming. That is about all I can say without spoiling anything but this took me by surprise and that rarely happens.
  • Characters: The main character in this book was not my favorite. That may be because I have read so many books recently with seriously bad*ss female characters but Mare really drove me crazy. She was so whiney, always talking about how she’s a lier and they are going to kill her… etc. I really just wanted her to realize how awesome she was and show it. There were some awesome side characters that I really enjoyed reading about. I think it would have been cool to read something from their point of view. Maybe the novellas have something (I don’t know)

Overall, I gave this book a solid 4/5 stars. I think the love triangle and the main character’s whiney nature brought it down for me. I felt the plot was well thought out and the world development was done really well. I plan on continuing with the story and I hope to see Mare develop more and become more sure of herself. If you have thought about reading this then I say give it a try.

I thought about writing a spoilery section to this review. If you would still like to see that let me know. Have you read this book? If so, I would love to hear your thoughts.

 

6 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I really enjoyed this one too!! I had heard so many people rip it apart and give negative reviews that I didn’t grab it. But I’m so glad I did, that plot twist got me hard. I had to sit the book down for a minute and compose my thoughts hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly!! Although, I do like to read well written reviews about why a book didn’t work for someone. But just saying “this book was bad” with no explanation kills me lol

        haha I’ve had that happen too, but most recently at my boyfriends place lol oops!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

