Posted in Reviews

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl This was so good! I honestly can’t think of anything I disliked or had a problem with…

Okay so this was probably the best contemporary novel I have ever read. Actually scratch that, this IS the best contemporary novel I have ever read (I really don’t read that many). There was so many great aspects to this story. I will try my best not to leave spoilers but be cautious if you yet to read it!

1. The main character, Cath, was extremely relatable. This is a story of her experiences throughout her first year of college. She has fun/exciting experiences and some that are not so great. Also, she writes fan-fiction. I have never actually written any but I have certainly read some. She experiences her first love and her first heartaches. She also makes some friends even though she is an introvert. I love everything about Cath and what she stands for. Finally, I love how Cath stood up for herself to Nick. Nick’s actions made me so mad and when Cath just let it happen, I thought I would start screaming. Then at the end when he asked her for a favor she turned him down flat. It really made me respect her even more.

2. This is a pretty random one but I love the Twins’ names. Cather and Wren…. Catherine! Get it? Their parents were either geniuses or complete idiots 0.0

3. The family aspect. Fangirl focuses not only on the importance of relationship and friendships, but also family. Family is so important to Cath and she sacrifices so much for them. I also really appreciate the inclusion of the Twins’ relationship with their mother. How finally at the end it seemed like the very beginning of starting to communicate with each other.

4. Cath and Levi. I love their “not so love at first sight” relationship. They had some struggles and some heartaches but they made it work. I also appreciate that the author didn’t make Levi’s “inappropriate activity” a huge part in this book. It was an obstacle that was easily resolved with communication. (Seriously, how many huge issues in stories could be resolved if the main characters just talked to each other??) Finally, I loved how the story didn’t end with their “happily ever after,” but with a “to be continued.”

5. The fan-fiction. Since the title of this book is “Fangirl,” you would think the fan-fiction would be a pretty important aspect. Cath’s writings play a huge role. I think that writing is how she discovers who she is, what she wants to do and be, and what is most important to her. It’s even how her relationship with Levi begins. I also really liked the little excerpts between each chapter. They were a lot of fun.

There are probably more things that I loved and am forgetting at the moment but these are definitely the ones that stood out the most.

This was my first Rainbow Rowell novel and I can’t wait to read more. I am extremely excited to read Carry On! It will be like reading the story that Cath was working on for so long. I recommend this to EVERYONE! Let me repeat… EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS!!

Leave a Reply

